Coming Soon !!

National Sports Awards 2016

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.  Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar  is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

List of Awardees 2016

(i) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2016

01. Ms. P.V. Sindhu – Badminton

02. Ms. Dipa Karmakar – Gymnastics

03. Shri Jitu Rai – Shooting

04. Ms. Sakshi Malik – Wrestling

(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2016

01. Shri Nagapuri Ramesh – Athletics

02. Shri Sagar Mal Dhayal – Boxing

03. Shri Raj Kumar Sharma – Cricket

04. Shri Bishweshwar Nandi – Gymnastics

05. Shri S. Pradeep Kumar – Swimming (Lifetime)

06. Shri Mahabir Singh – Wrestling (Lifetime)

(iii) Arjuna Awards 2016

01. Shri Rajat Chauhan – Archery

02. Ms. Lalita Babar – Athletics

03. Shri Sourav Kothari – Billiards & Snooker

04. Shri Shiva Thapa – Boxing

05. Shri Ajinkya Rahane – Cricket

06. Shri Subrata Paul – Football

07. Ms. Rani – Hockey

08. Shri Raghunath V.R. – Hockey

09. Shri Gurpreet Singh – Shooting

10. Ms. Apurvi Chandela – Shooting

11. Shri Soumyajit Ghosh – Table Tennis

12. Ms. Vinesh – Wrestling

13. Shri Amit Kumar – Wrestling

14. Shri Sandeep Singh Mann – Para Athletics

15. Shri Virender Singh – Wrestling (Deaf)

(iv) Dhyan Chand Award 2015

01. Ms. Satti Geetha – Athletics

02. Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung – Hockey

03. Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke – Rowing

(v) Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2016

01. Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent – Hockey Citizen Group ; Dadar Parsee Zorostrian cricket club ; Usha School of Athletics ; STAIRS

02. Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility – India Infrastructure Finance Corporate Limited

03. Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures – Reserve Bank of India

04. Sports for Development – Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society

(vi) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015-16

Punjabi University, Patiala

→ The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

→ Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh.  Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.  Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and  certificate.

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply